Natalya DeSena Photography: For the Love of Film

 

This winter I had the opportunity to slow down and do what I love most, shoot film. I went to Halide film workshop in Acton, MA and it was hands down my favorite workshop of all time.

Thanks to all the beautiful souls that helped create such an amazing experience and for being so open about your process and work. There’s nothing I love more than collaboration and community in this wedding industry.

I consider myself a hybrid photographer (digital + film), but I primarily shoot digital. On wedding days I use 2 professional full-frame Canon cameras and my 35mm Canon EOS 1V. 

I absolutely love film and will be integrating it more and more into my wedding work. My film camera is simply a tool I use for creating my some of my work. As a photographer, and artist, I capture weddings the best way I see fit, whether that’s on digital, film, or both.

I grew up shooting film since my father had a darkroom in our basement. It’s a timeless medium that I use to tell your story. It provides dreamy and soft photographs, but it also handles light in such a beautiful way. It excels in intimate moments, movement, and details. Digital excels in low light situations, when there needs to be artificial lighting, and when time is of the essence.

I look forward to sharing many more film images in my portfolios this summer. Long live film!

Thanks to…

Workshop lead: Elizabeth LaDuca @elizabethladuca

Venue: Villageworks Loft @villageworksloft

Editorial Design and guest photographer: Gabriella Riggieri @ggabriella

Guest photographer: Arielle Doneson @arielledoneson

Florals: Luna Moss @lunamoss

Videography: Willow Tree Films @willowtreefilms

Paper goods: August & Osceola @augustandosceola

Chef: Uncommon Feasts @uncommonfeasts

Hair and Makeup: Alicia Dane @aliciadane

Models: Mary Navarro @marebearry, Jordan Blackwell @j.blckwll

Cake: Soul Cake Shop @soulcakeshop

Jewelry: Store Ore @storeore

Wedding Dress: Ceremony @ceremony_boston

Clothing: Forma of the West @formaofthewest

Tablewares: Myrth Ceramics @myrthceramics

Surfaces: Locust Collection @locustcollection

Styling goods: @shopromanticist

Furniture Rentals: Kadeema Rentals @kadeemarentals

Linens: The Bayith @thebayith

Film lab: Photovision @photovisionprints